Latest News New York

NIAASC elects new executive committee

Rajeshwar Prasad, the founder and outgoing President, made the announcement at the organization’s 22nd annual meeting and Board of Directors Meeting (held virtually) on November 8.

Mr. Prasad elaborated on the process of NIAASC Board elections: one-third Board members retire every year, but they are eligible for re-election if they are recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the General Body at its annual meeting. Of the five retiring members, three would continue as Board members for a period of three years ending December 31, 2023.

Two members of NIAASC were also recommended by the Nominating Committee to serve on the Board of Directors and approved by the general body: They are Baldev Seekri, from Rhode Island, and Santosh Kumar from the Chicago area. Both Seekri and Kumar, life members of NIAASC,  were speakers at NIAASC’s annual meeting in 2019 held at Shantiniketan, Tavares, Florida.

The officers were elected for two-year terms:

  • (Photos NIAASC)

    Gunjan P. Rastogi, currently the NIAASC Secretary, was elected as President

  • thesatime | The Southasian times

    Dr. Bhavani Srinivasan, currently Vice President, was re-elected as Vice President for a second full term.

  • (Photos NIAASC)

    Harbachan Singh, currently a Board member, was elected as Secretary, and

  • (Photos NIAASC)

    E M Stephen, who has been associated with NIAASC since its inception, was elected as Treasurer.

To learn more about NIAASC or to become a member, please visit

Read More