Articles Latest News

Navratri: Worshipping divinity in various forms of Maa Durga

The festival of Navratri is celebrated with full fervor and enthusiasm by Indians world over. The Sharad Navratri is just around the corner and people have already started the preparations for the festivities of nine-day long Sharad Navratri 2020.

Navratri is a nine-day-long festival during which devotees worship nine forms of Goddess Durga namely Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.

There are four Navratis in Hindu calendar — Magha (winter), Chaitra (Spring), Ashadha (Monsoon) and Sharad (Autumn). Of the four Navratris celebrated every year, the Sharad Navratri, also known as Shardiye Navratri is the most important.

Sharad Navratri 2020 starting and ending date:

This year the Sharad Navratri will commence on October 17 and holds a special significance as it will commence exactly a month after Pitra Paksha. The auspicious festival of Sharad Navratri will be observed till October 25 or October 26. The end of Navratri marks the festival of Vijayadashmi, more commonly known as Dussehra.

Sharad Navratri 2020 calendar:

October 17, Day 1 – Pratipada, Ghatasthapana, Shailputri Puja
October 18, Day 2 – Dwitiya, Chandra Darshana, Brahmacharini Puja
October 19, Day 3 – Tritiya, Sindoor Tritiya, Chandraghanta Puja
October 20, Day 4 – Chaturthi, Kushmanda Puja, Vinayaka Chaturthi, Upang Lalita Vrat
October 21, Day 5 – Panchami, Skandamata Puja, Saraswati Avahan
October 22, Day 6 – Shashthi, Katyayani Puja, Saraswati Puja
October 23, Day 7 – Saptami, Kalaratri Puja
October 24, Day 8 – Ashtami, Durga Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja, Sandhi Puja, Maha Navami
October 25, Day 9 – Navami, Ayudha Puja, Navami Homa, Navratri Parana, Vijayadashami
October 26, Day 10 – Dashami, Durga Visarjan

The auspicious festival of Navratri is celebrated to commemorate Goddess Durga, who defines the power of women or Shakti. During the festivities of Navratri, devotees worship nine avatars of Durga. The festivities begin with Ghatasthapna. During the nine days, devotees observe fast and spend the day reading holy mantras dedicated to Maa Amba.

Read More